Albums on Loop, the 2021 Edition

Another great year for new releases, and I enjoyed exploring the sounds from a load of new artists this year.  I’ve compiled playlists on Apple Music and Spotify with a selection from 2021 albums I’ve had on loop through the year… and I’ve picked out a top 20 from them:

  1. Fred Again.. – Actual Life (April 14 – December 17 2020): If I were compiling a list of my all-time favourite albums, this would be a contender for sure.  Shortly after first hearing the album, Fred Again.. posted a live studio video on YouTube and I was mesmerised by the genius of it.  The mash of lyrical and visual clips which serve as a social diary from the pandemic, along with a blend of piano, electronic beats and an extra layer of lyrics from Fred Again.. – this album has filled my mind body and soul with positive energy throughout the year.  None more so than seeing the album, along with the 2nd album (also amazing!) performed live in the King Tut’s.  Perfect.
  2. Hayden Thorpe – Moondust For My Diamond: The Fred Again.. gig was one of my first since March 2020, and at my final pre-pandemic gig Hayden Thorpe was supporting Jon Hopkins.  I’d previously seen Hayden Thorpe live with Wild Beasts and whilst they were good, Thorpe’s solo performance with just a piano and his enchanting voice was next level.  Moondust For My Diamond takes a step on from the debut solo album (Diviner), adding more production but just to a perfect level to allow Thorpe’s voice to pull the key strings.    
  3. Ben Böhmer – Begin Again: I hadn’t heard of Ben Böhmer until Cercle sent him into the Turkish sky in a hot air balloon, but the visuals of Cappadocia along with Böhmer’s lush electronic sounds – simultaneously made for the dancefloor and also to chill to.  Begin Again is the album that followed this year, and it matched the high expectation set by my regular Cercle viewing.  (if you like Kolsch, you’ll like this)
  4. HARD FEELINGS – HARD FEELINGS: Joe Goddard (Hot Chip & The 2 Bears) and Amy Douglas (DFA, Horse Meat Disco) teamed up here to create HARD FEELINGS, and they’ve made something beautiful.  If you like big vocals alongside a quality House beat, then get this album on and get ready to dance. (if you like Hercules & The Love Affair, you’ll like this)     
  5. Parra for Cuva – Juno (& remixes): Parra for Cuva also had a Cercle video in 2020 which gave an introduction to many of the tracks on Juno – perfect chilled electronic vibes.  An unexpected bonus to go along with this was the remix album, which takes a selection of the tracks and turns them into an absolute dream for the dancefloor (Innellea’s remix of Her Entrance one of the tunes of the year for me).  Hopefully I’ll get to hear them in a club at some point…
  6. Jose Gonzalez – Local Valley: Jose Gonzalez played at Celtic Connections in 2021 (the only festival I saw this year that truly adapted to the lockdown situation at the start of the year, serving up several live performances online for ~2weeks), and his set was a delight of tracks from his debut album Veneer (2003) and new tracks from Local Valley.  The tracks from the new album matched the classics from Veneer.  
  7. Lone – Always Inside Your Head: Lone is an electronic producer who can release tracks at the absolute top level across multiple genres, and Always Inside Your Head captures that in album form.  There are so many lush electronic soundscapes on this but the highlight for me is when it goes upbeat.  You could easily put ‘Tree to Tree’ in alongside Laurent Garnier’s greatest hits and it’d stand up alongside them.  No higher praise is possible.  In a way it just left me wishing there was more of that, but the whole album is superb.        
  8. Cleo Sol – Mother: Cleo Sol’s track ‘Why Don’t You’ is one of the finest soul / R&B tracks I’ve heard since Angie Stone’s ‘Wish I Didn’t Miss You’.  That was released on last year’s ‘Rose in The Dark’ album which didn’t quite sustain that level for me, but ‘Mother’ does.  Super smooth. 
  9. Heogen – Odd Radio Circle: This is quite a cool one for me, last year after posting my 2020 album blog I randomly connected on Instagram with a Latvian who clearly shares my love of music (cool photos too).  He shares album tips quite regularly and this was one… and wow, this is amazing.  There isn’t much online about these guys, but there’s a forum review here where someone says ‘think Plaid going on a date with Ulrich Schnauss’ and I can’t do any better than that.   
  10. Luttrell – Music for my Memories (Parts 1-3): Luttrell released Music for my Memories across 3 EPS this year, House music with taster of Trance added – I’ve no idea what genre that leads to, but I like it.  Luttrell puts a spring into my step and I regularly found myself going back to it this year.
  11. Common – A Beautiful Revolution Part2: Common continues to deliver top quality Hip-Hop, with the 2nd part of his Beautiful Revolution adding to his superb back catalogue.  This doesn’t get up to Resurrection or Electric Circus levels, but it is a great listen all the same.
  12. DJ Seinfeld – Mirrors: Good vibes dancefloor action all the way here, with some great vocal tracks on it. (if you like Jamie XX, you’ll like this)
  13. Jex Opolis – It’s Me, Jexy: Jex Opolis is introducing himself, Jexy, as a master of the funky electronica with this album.  There’s such a good groove throughout this album, which is a high bar he seems to meet with every release. He really deserves a much higher profile than he seems to have.
  14. Monolink – Under Darkening Skies: Monolink is another Cercle discovery for me, where he perfectly soundtracked the awesome visual qualities of the Maldives.  Guitar, vocals and electronics that have a heavy hint of Nicolas Jaar to them, but Monolink puts his own stamp on that (removing some of the complexity that Jaar adds to his music).  
  15. Agoria – .dev: Superb deep and dark rolling baselines and sharp edges cut through this album.  I just wish it was a bit longer, but a great addition to Agoria’s collection!
  16. Tor – Oasis Sky: Tor is a new artist to me, and the great combination of strings, percussion and electronic groove had me hooked straight away.  (if you like Bonobo, you’ll like this)
  17. Sufjan Stevens & Angelo De Augustine – A Beginner’s Mind: I love everything that Sufjan Stevens is involved in, and this is no exception.  With this collaboration he has introduced me to another talent in Angelo De Augustine, who is similar in style with the gentle guitar and vocals.
  18. Jorja Smith – Be Right Back: Jorja Smith’s cover of St Germain’s Rose Rouge was a highlight of 2020 for me, and Be Right Back followed that with production at the same level.  Another album I just wish was a bit longer.
  19. Pablo Bolivar – Framework of a Dream: Techno that brings in dub and also ventures into a world of chilled soundscapes, this album is beautiful.  I also recommend digging into the sounds from Mind Groove, who collaborates on the last track.
  20. St Germain – Tourist, Travel Versions: It felt like this had to be at #20 for this list, 20 years on from one of my favourite albums St Germain marked the anniversary by releasing a load of remixes and they are all great!  He also put together a podcast for XLR8R which was one of the mixes of the year for me.     

In addition to the playlist of tunes from the albums I’ve been listening to from this year, I also created another couple of playlists through the year.

And finally, 3 mix compilations played a big part of 2021 for me as well:

  1. Robag Wruhme – Connecting The Dots: Apple Music / Spotify
  2. Pulshar – Espectrum II (Dub Techno Compilation):  Apple Music / Spotify
  3. Sasha – Luzoscura: Apple Music / Spotify

About stuartmdarling

I live in Motherwell & work in a role that takes me around the world. My passion for politics and music go with me every step of the journey...
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment