Albums On Loop, the 2016 Edition

Partly due to the realisation that having twins is an expensive business, and partly because my CD collection was already running out of control – 2016 was the year that I switched over to the digital world – Apple Music being my provider of choice (convenience won the day). The shift has definitely impacted the way I’ve listened to music, with much more album listening – mostly at the expense of podcasts…

So what I’ve done this year is make a YouTube playlist of tracks from 60 albums that I’ve had on loop at various stages throughout 2016; you can start the playlist by clicking here.

However, I’ve not sorted my playlist with any sort of preference & it is customary to make lists – but there’s no way anyone would read through 60 of them, so here’s my top 21 (with a wee bit of text for the top 6):

  1. Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool (electronics, strings, piano, guitars, drums and some healthy wailing – possibly their best album to date imo…)
  2. Romare – Love Songs Part 2 (reviews called it ‘experimental psychedelic‘ and ‘disco which incorporates traditional Irish folk music‘ – whatever is going on, it falls into my category of perfect House music)
  3. Aphex Twin – Cheetah EP (a perfect Aphex Twin release. No more words needed).
  4. Blood Orange – Freetown Sound (outstanding production and also a great diversity to this album, which is a rare feat for an R&B album)
  5. Lord of the Isles – In Waves (ambient techno – if you don’t know what that is then you need to check this out, if you do know then I’m sure you will check this out…)
  6. Lone – Levitate (this album captures the essence of 90s Breakbeat and sounds completely fresh / unique; I love it!)
  7. Moderat – 3
  8. Mogwai – Atomic
  9. The Range – Potential
  10. M Craft – Blood Moon
  11. Plaid – The Digging Remedy
  12. Tiga – No Fantasy Required
  13. James Blake – The Colour In Anything
  14. Youandewan – There Is No Right Time
  15. DJ Shadow – The Mountain Will Fall
  16. Mark Pritchard – Under The Sun
  17. BADBADNOTGOOD – IV
  18. Bat For Lashes – The Bride
  19. Floorplan – Victorious
  20. A Tribe Called Quest – We Got It From Here…
  21. Bjarki – “B”

When you’re through with my album selections – I highly recommend the YouTube playlist that Resident Advisor put together of their top 50 tracks of 2016.

About stuartmdarling

I live in Motherwell & work in Edinburgh in the Oil & Gas sector, which has been taking me around the world for 15 years now. My passion for politics and music go with me every step of the journey...
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

