Albums of 2014 (27 – 11)

It is all too easy to play to the convention of sticking to multiples of 10 or 5 when creating lists, but I’m breaking from convention here with my top 27 albums of 2014.  There’s no science to it, these are simply the albums that have been floating my boat during a year that I’ll never forget.  Please feel free to leave a comment with any tips of your own… the Sun Kil Moon, Kelis, Moodymann and Andy Stott albums have recently found their way to me and I’ve been enjoying them.  Anyway, on with my 27:

27: Hercules and the Love Affair – The Feast of the Broken Heart.  Their 3rd studio album doesn’t match the very high standards set by the first 2 but I still really enjoyed it. Any hint of an acid squelch and I’m sold, and it’s always good to see some effort put into music videos – if all the songs felt the same as this I’m sure it would be higher in my list:

26: Efdemin – Decay.  Jeff Mills set off on a One Man Spaceship a few years ago, Efdemin is on a similar journey and Decay is what I’ve stuck on this year if looking to get lost in some nice techno:

25: Leon Vynehall – Music for the Uninvited. Good thing!

24: Simian Mobile Disco – Whorl. SMD seemed to drift below the radar following their high profile debut ‘Attack Decay Sustain Release’ but every album they’ve released has been of a high quality and their 4th studio album is well worth checking out:

23: How To Dress Well – What Is This Heart? I was blown away by HTDW’s 2nd album Total Loss topped my 2012 album list. The 3rd album doesn’t quite sustain the same standard but still an excellent album:

22: Little Dragon – Nabuma Rubberband.  I enjoyed seeing them perform this album live so much that I checked them out twice.  The live version of Only One is better than anything on the album, but the album is still good J:

21: The War On Drugs – Lost In The Dream.  This album is up at the top of several 2014 album lists and deservedly so I reckon:

20: Steffi – Power of Anonymity. Her Essential Mix is superb and so is her album:

19: The Barr Brothers – Sleeping Operator.  If anyone can point me to more folk music like this then I’d be much obliged!  Love both of their albums and can’t wait to see them live at Celtic Connections this year!

18: Todd Terje – It’s Album Time. Inspector Norse is such a good tune that it deserved to be on an album, it is in good company with the rest of the tunes too:

17: GoGo Penguin – v2.0. A chance viewing of Later with Jools Holland introduced me to GoGo Penguin – their energy and live talent was captivating and it transfers to album nicely:

16: Taylor McFerrin – Early Riser. Son of the incredible Bobby McFerrin, Taylor McFerrin has set his own musical course with his superb debut album:

15: Mogwai – Rave Tapes.  Another superb album from Mogwai and during 2014 I managed to see them in the Glasgow Concert Hall, the Usher Hall and the highlight was seeing them follow on from James Holden and Fuck Buttons at the East End Social – an amazing night!

14: Lone – Reality Testing. The track “2 is 8” has served as my alarm during 2014 but I still love it, and the rest of the album too…

13: TIN MAN – ODE.  TIN MAN had somehow managed to release 7 albums without me hearing of him, thankfully his Resident Advisor podcast set that straight.  Hours of quality acid techno listening:

12: Roman Flugel – Happiness Is Happening.  The album is simply sublime, as is his Boiler Room which opens with the album track ‘We Have A Nice Life’:

11: Cloud Boat – Model of You. I only stumbled upon the 2013 Cloud Boat album Book of Hours at the start of 2014 and was delighted to find them release Model of You in the following months.  A bonus was that when getting the link for Hallow below I stumbled upon a Ewan Pearson remix too:

About stuartmdarling

I live in Motherwell & work in Edinburgh in the Oil & Gas sector, which has been taking me around the world for 14 years now. My passion for politics and music go with me every step of the journey...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Albums of 2014 (27 – 11)

  1. Pingback: Albums of 2014 (10 – 1) | Darling Blogs

Leave a Reply

