Albums of 2013 (10 – 1)

Following on from my run down of my top 20 – 11 albums from 2013, the top 10:

10: Depeche Mode – Delta Machine.  Despite being a massive fan of Depeche Mode for most of my life, this album would have passed me by had it not been for the fact that they presented my first opportunity to go to the new SSE Hydro venue in Glasgow (which opened to much praise). It was my 3rd time seeing them, and it was the best I’d seen from them – despite not really being familiar with the new album at the time the tracks from it matched their classics.

9: Blu Mar Ten – Famous Lost Words.  Blu Mar Ten wasn’t a name that I’d heard before 2013 but they made a big impact on me during 2013.  Their podcasts are my best podcast discovery of the year, playing a significant spectrum of sounds all to my taste and their album is a welcome return to the world of Drum & Bass for me!

8: Disclosure – Settle.  Chances are most people have heard a few tracks from this album but every track on it is a winner, with a fair bit of diversity to it.

7: Darkside – Psychic. I’m not sure if it is an intentional reference but my mind does draw a line from some of Pink Floyd’s best work to this album… The album is one to get indulged in, but their live set is probably more accessible:  .  I look forward to seeing that in Glasgow in March!

6: Fat Freddy’s Drop – Blackbird. There isn’t a Fat Freddy’s Drop release that has passed me by and again they show their ability to create an incredible flow to an album and also continue to write tracks of the highest quality.  If only they visited Scotland more frequently… Mother, mother: my queen, my rock:

5: John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts. I hadn’t really listened to John Grant before but this was recommended and I’m grateful for that! Superb album and amazing live show in Glasgow in October as well:

4: Zomby – With Love. If I was going purely on the best sounds – this would be my number 1 album for sure. A collection of 33 tunes, the short tracks could perhaps flow a bit better but I still love it from start to finish.

3: Daniel Avery – Drone Logic. Definitely one of the stars from 2013, his 3 hour Boiler Room set pretty much contains his album. Along similar lines to Underworld’s Dubnobasswithyourheadman album – a good sound to follow…

2: Moderat – II.  The second time that Modeselektor and Apparat come together to make an album and the result is more genius (their respective acts are worth catching up on if they aren’t familiar to you as well)! I reckon Robag Wruhme’s remix of Bad Kingdom will send many a dancefloor into mayhem in the coming months…

1: London Grammar – If You Wait.  The KEXP presenter’s reaction to the first track pretty much matches the way I feel every time I listen to London Grammar.

About stuartmdarling

I live in Motherwell & work in Edinburgh in the Oil & Gas sector, which has been taking me around the world for 14 years now. My passion for politics and music go with me every step of the journey...
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

